Taking Stock — January 2018

Timing really is everything.  2018 so far has been good to me. My post is long overdue because I have my hands full. 

I’ve been admitted to study Visual Arts at the College of the Arts. I am so honored and excited to pursue something I am so passionate about. I’ve done Printmaking so far and I’m moving on to Object Making next week. 

I’ve moved out of my sisters. I’m going to miss my babies but I need to be on my own. I get to live with my bestfriend of 13 years. 

I am freelancing. Just because it took me three years my degree — I can’t possibly let that waste away. I’ll mostly focus on Photography but PR will always have a place in my life.

And I still have my very time consuming full time job.

Listening: To The 1975 and Haim. My absolute favorite bands!!

Below is a summary of my life’s journey from January to now. 

Cooking: Nothing. Sandwiching, Blending and Boiling. 

IMG_0628.PNG
I am obsessed with mangoes and bananas; they make up most of my breakfast smoothies.

Drinking: Water and ginger tea. 

Reading: I am forcing myself to read Drawing for Beginner’s. No time for leisure read lately, all I do is work, school and sleep.

Watching: Young Sheldon. It would be awesome if there was a young Raj, Leonard and Howard but I’m still loving it. It takes a lot for me to invest my valuable time in a series in this decade.

Following: A lot of local businesses. Klara’s Market seems to be my favorite at the current moment. I still need to go and check it out but I’m all in already, their Istagram feed is my whole life right now.

Wanting: A new phone. And indoor plants. 

indoor plants and books

Deciding: What I will do with my two week mid-term break. Maybe catch up on sleep, work on my photography portfolio and finally frame some art work from class.

Wishing: I wasn’t so open. The irony of it all seeing as I am currently drafting a Taking Stock. 

Looking: Forward to a career in Visual Arts. Our lecturer declared us student Visual Artists.

According to The Namibian newspaper, Papa Shikongeni, our lecturer for Printmaking is “One of Namibia’s most gifted and long-serving visual artists and musicians.” It has been such an honor to be taught by him. I could say many wonderful things about him but I can best describe him as passionate, wise, gifted, kind, honest with a hint of crazy. 

Enjoying: Art school. With all of me. 

love me some art

Waiting: To see my nieces this weekend. I really miss seeing their gorgeous happy faces. (Thinking about them makes me super emotional)

Wondering: How I’ll long i’ll last with my 5 hour sleep a day routine. 

Loving: Art. I cried last week because of criticism I received about my drawing and that for me was a sign that I am passionate, eager to learn and become a good Visual Artist. 

Noticing: That I need to adapt a minimalist approach at this life thing. I aspire to live a life of  a nomad above all else. 

Knowing: That I am worthy of everything I am blessed to experience and have. 

Thinking: About how grateful I am. 

Disliking: The heat. I could never complain enough about the heat. When we do get rain, its incredibly heavy it it never lasts.

Opening: Another box of Ginger Root Infusions Tea from Woolworths 

Capture

Feeling: Happy all the time. Even with my long days, not enough eating, dehydration, no exercise, barely any sleep and a mind bursting with a million ideas at once I am still happy at the end of every single day. 


I was generally very emotional this past few weeks. I cried when I was overwhelmed, confused and even when I was happy. Even my post is different from any other Taking Stock I’ve done because so much has change; I am evolving into the kind of woman I want my unborn children to wake up to everyday, learn from, experience life with and share joy and happiness. I’ve had to empty my cup and start over again to be in a good place — it’s been painful yet exciting.

  • I would like to encourage you to step out of your comfort zone, push yourself and find light in every scene in your amazing life no matter how ugly it may look to you.
  • Pursue your hobbies and interests. 
  • Do good, work hard, expect nothing from the universe and it will give you everything your heart desires in abundance!!
IMG_0627
Something about this! 

“The graveyard is the richest place on earth, because it is here that you will find all the hopes and dreams that were never fulfilled, the books that were never written, the songs that were never sung, the inventions that were never shared, the cures that were never discovered, all because someone was too afraid to take that first step, keep with the problem, or determined to carry our their dream.” 
― Les Brown

signature

Photos from Picture App: We Heart It

Leave a comment